It's all about the STORY!

It’s true – I’ve been a brief stand-in at the iLovetheBurg blog. For three weeks only (I’m into my third week now), I’ve been lending a hand with some copy layout and uploads and even some writing. About the writing…

I did not get a byline for stories or credit for photos published here, and that’s fair because I also didn’t complain about some of the editing (*whistles uncomfortably*). A few abrupt slice and dices with a heavy editing hand make for occasional grammatically awkward reads at times, but the stories still seem to be intact.

Anyway, here are the links for the work so far.

1) Fit2Run is the first major retail store to open in downtown in quite some time–coming in August. I interviewed the owner and the soon-to-be store manager. And, I really did mean that part about the clumsy editing–see both versions of the copy for Fit2Run article for an example:

2) The Chattaway. Here’s a great piece about an old Florida burger joint. My dad used to take me here a lot when I was a kid. Great memories, and it was so much fun to relive the history of this amazing St. Pete landmark. I wrote the copy, and the photographs were taken by local poet and photographer R. MonaLeza – she had her first Chattaburger that day!

3) City Cycle Tours recently closed up shop. Why? Will they come back? Will they refund deposits to customers? St. Pete City Councilmember Karl Nurse spoke a little about it as did a representative of PedalPub–an operation similar to City Cycle Tours in downtown St. Pete. To be fair, this article was written the day they closed their doors–I have no idea if they’ve made any attempts to settle obligations to customers or communicated with them since.

4) Beak’s Old Florida — I discovered whilst hanging out at another of my favorite joints, The Queens Head Eurobar, located across the street. Anyway, both places are a sight to behold, indeed. Here’s a peek into Beaks (I plan to cover Queens Head Saturday). I wrote the copy and took the photos on this one.

I’ll have a few more before I leave, following my three week tour of duty. I’ll include those on a separate post once I close out this gig. Meanwhile, happy trails!

Update: Looks like this gig is gonna last beyond 3 weeks – at least through the summer…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

