It's all about the STORY!

(Photo credit: http://anxious-creative.blogspot.com/)

As a writer, I am concerned about words. They mean something to me. Also, I am concerned about stories. They mean something to me, too. 

I am concerned that contemporary culture may lack a love for words and written stories–that it is a love affair that is becoming more rare. Sometimes things that are rare are special, but in this case, I find it melancholy.

I am concerned that our culture is too distracted to have a love affair with words and stories any longer. They want one night stands and speed dating versus the relationship filled with deep attraction, love notes, commitment, harsh words, broken hearts and promises, redemption and the bliss of kindness, thoughtfulness and quirks that make these love affairs beautiful and worth living for.

More and more, 500 words or less is the formula for success in modern media, and I have no choice but to succumb to stay relevant. So, I promise to rise to the occasion and challenge myself to engage you in a deep love affair confined to brevity–to sweep you off your feet and enchant you into a friendship or more that hopefully will fill you until the next story, the next encounter, the next night in our favorite hotel above the busy street where words will take you onward to the next chapter in our relationship.

Maybe then you will be willing to take on more than 500 words. Maybe then you’ll long for the whole story not just the soundbite. If so, imagine this story (link below), of this life slashed into 500 words? What a tragedy that would be, indeed!

[Total: 270 words]

Not authored by me, though I wish it were: Shelagh Was Here: an ordinary magical life 

Comments on: "Melancholy in less than 500 words" (4)

  1. *sigh* Those are words I can definitely relate to – all 500 of them! I have not yet succumbed 🙂 Perhaps at some future date I will, just not yet.

  2. What a beautiful story. This falls in line with what we talked about on the show yesterday. Why do people require so few words these days? I’ve always felt words are the greatest magic humans have. rml

  3. “It all reminds me of a wise observation which has been made on the frequent complaint that the legitimate theatre is dying. ‘All the theatre needs,’ says this comment, ‘is a few good plays.’ The fate of the story, after all, is in the hands of its authors.” -Stewart Beach

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

